weaponsofmassdelight

Mutual Assured Delight

The Joys of LARPing


 

Once a month in southern part of New Jersey, a magical occurrence happen for three suns and two moons. During this time the steadfast brick wall between reality and fantasy crumble  peeling away of preconception of belief and the unknown. As the dust settles and the earth lays to a rest a new land is formed. This land  is full of nefarious necromancers and wise wizards. This land is full of  elegant elves and ominous ogres. This land is safe haven for the weak and the strong, the fast and the slow, the fearful and the fearless with every other imagination of being ever to be spun on the spinning wheel of creativity and wonder.

This land is Evermoore.

 After  two painful months away from the South Jersey based LARP( That’s Live Action Role Play Playing) Mystic Realms, I finally found my way back to the Glory of Guildenhall. I had picked out my  deep elf costume(always a work in progress) and made the heart wracking decision of what kind of ears to purchase (halfing, regular,  or incredibly long anime ears)  and was set for the weekend. On the first night, I was able to experience a side of LARPing that I have never touched before. I was able to NPC. 

NPC stands for non player character. A non player character is a person or thing that helps the storyline and is not character that earns status or point for completing tasks. This can range from being a happy mushroom that throws spores to a hero from an era long gone that needs the players help in fighting spirits.  NPC’s help characters earn gold/items and move the storyline along. They are the framework of the mighty building known as The Story. On friday was given the opportunity to play an ogre. The experience was incredible. It was as if I was able to finally see the wires behind the computer. Needless to say, I plan on doing it again.

In under 80 hours I fought killer ants, became a gypsy hunting ogre, and evaded semi sentient moving lava. I was able to experience a different world from different eyes and truly suck the marrow from life.  LARPing is not the an escape from reality, as many people are led to belive, but an augmentation of existence. Live Action Role Play for me is a portal to experience different people and emotions that would be difficult to imitate in my regular life. So far, I have only attended two events, so take my word with a large shaker of salt. Maybe I am completely wrong and I am still in the honeymoon phase, with the stress of reality of cold hard truth eventually bearing its fangs me.

I don’t think so though.

I have spoken with people, both older and younger, who have been  LARPing for years. It seems to me that going to these events have made their regular lives not fade into shadows, but brighten to the height of a million suns. One day I hope to be able to look back at this post not just with fond memories but also with the same enthusiasm that I have now.  I look forward to writing more and more about my adventures into this brave new world.

                                                                   -Grant
Live Any Good Adventures lately?

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

