weaponsofmassdelight

Mutual Assured Delight

Trolls and Terminology One


Believe it or not I have friends.

No, really.

Believe it or not, not all of my friends are gamers or into comics/fantasy.

Stop laughing, I’m trying to be serious.

Now, I will be the first to admit that there are people who surpass me in every conceivable way when it comes to geekery. Still, I understand the lingo and even sometimes use it.  (Hey mom, I didn’t make the football team but I got a certificate from the Harvard saying that I am fluent in L33T). This is where the language barrier comes in.  Sometimes a phrase or term is used that does not have a direct translation into the realm of pop culture or common speak.  That is why decided to do this weekly. I am going to attempt to explain certain terms to the best of my ability.         Please, if I get something wrong tell me.

Hammerspace

 

Hammerspace (Magic Satchel): We have all played Pokémon, right.  I’m just going to assume that everybody has played Pokémon at least once in their life. Remember that small little bag that your character had around his/her back. Remember how it could 99x Potions, 99 empty poke balls, a bike, a ridiculous amount of HM’s/TM’s, and your cool refreshing Coca-Cola ( Never Pepsi because Pepsi is Communist scum. America!) ? That’s a magic satchel. Hammerspace also explains why Zelda can carry so many weapons and Oscar the Grouch has an infinite amount of garbage in his trash can.

 

Think of it like this. Have you ever seen a girl pull phone out of their chest?

Now imagine if instead of a phone, it was Dumbo.

Ok, maybe not an exact analogy but it’s like that.

How about, imagine a larger than average (obese) man running away from an ax murderer and is able to successfully hide behind a sapling.  Where did the rest of him go!?

 

Hammer Time?

Noooo, Hammer Space.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Trolls and Terminology One

Leave a Reply

